ITS News

  • Tim Lipman

    Transportation Sustainability Research Center Co-Director Tim Lipman was asked to testify for Chairman Bill Quirk’s select committee of the Assembly in Sacramento June 18, 2015 regarding The Future of Transportation Fuel in California.


  • Shaheen presents

     Transportation Sustainability Research Center Co-Director Susan Shaheen is taking an international perspective when it comes to the sharing economy this June. She was recently a keynote speaker at two gatherings in Utrecht: the First 2015 Car-Sharing Symposium in the Netherlands on June 3, 2015 and the First International Workshop on the Sharing Economy June 4-5, 2015.

  • tsrc.jpg

    The Transportation Sustainability Research Center (TSRC) was recently named one of four teams eligible to study the Impacts of Connected Vehicles (CVs) and Automated Vehicles (AVs) on State and Local Transportation Agencies (Project 20-102) by the National Cooperative Highway Research Program (NCHRP) through the Transportation Research Board (TRB).


  • handshake

    The Institute of Transportation Studies at the University of California, Berkeley is taking another step forward to forge new relationships around the world after signing a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Catalan Ministry of Territory and Sustainability May 18, 2015.  

  • IMG_9721.jpg

    ITS Berkeley doctoral student Andre Carrel and Goldman School of Public Policy and the Energy and Resources Group doctoral student Rachel Golden shared their insights and lent their expertise about transportation legislation and policy to staff members from the Assembly and Senate on the 6th annual Graduate Research Advocacy Day.


  • Mark Coopersmith

    Failure. It’s not something people like to talk about, but University of California, Berkeley Entrepreneurship Professors Mark Coopersmith and John Danner are putting failure to good use in their new book, “The Other ‘F’ Word: How Smart Leaders, Teams, and Entrepreneurs Put Failure to Work.” 


  • GorripatyandLeshner

    Two transportation graduate students are garnering notice for their contributions to the field of transportation. ITS Berkeley master’s student Eleanor Leshner and doctoral student Sreeta Gorripaty received awards from the San Francisco chapter of the Women's Transportation Seminar (WTS) Foundation.


  • Paul Waddell

    Urban Canvas, a powerful software-based simulator for planning and analyzing urban development — created by Synthicity, a Berkeley startup founded by Paul Waddell, a UC Berkeley professor and the chair of city and regional planning — goes into wide release after being acquired by 3D software giant Autodesk. 


  • presenters

     Bridging two continents and universities, 95 visiting students from the leading business school in France, Hautes Etudes Commercial de Paris (HEC), teamed up with 30 University of California, Berkeley Engineering students on April 18, 2015 for a travel idea hackathon, sponsored by Berkeley’s Institute of Transportation Studies, Technology Transfer Program.


  • Samer Madanat

     Built on a firm University of California Berkeley foundation, former Institute of Transportation Studies Director Samer Madanat is taking his career to the next level. He was recently named Dean of Engineering at New York University Abu Dhabi. He will be moving to the Middle East for his new post in July 2015.