ITS Berkeley Celebrates Achievements, Awards

December 17, 2019

2019 Holiday Party

ITS Berkeley hosted their annual holiday lunch and awards program Dec. 13, 2019 to celebrate staff, faculty, research and all the accomplishments the Institute and its Centers have achieved in the last year. Check out our photos on Facebook. This year’s awards go to:

Pravin Varaiya

ITS Distinguished Legacy Award   

Pravin Varaiya

In recognition of his groundbreaking research and exemplary support of student research and education.   

Skabardonis ITS Faculty of the Year Award

ITS Faculty of the Year Award

Alex Skabardonis       

In recognition of his exemplary support of student research and education.

Morales Award

ITS Distinguished Award for Advancement of Research and Innovation   

 Jeff Morales 

In recognition of his long-standing support of ITS Berkeley in his numerous roles in the public and private sector in California, as well as an ITS Visiting Scholar. Jeff regularly provides feedback on our projects and lectures in classes and seminars whenever he is invited. He has been a great supporter of ITS Berkeley. 

Butler ITS Team Leadership Award

ITS Team Leadership Award  

Joseph Butler 

In recognition of his passion to improve mobility in California and an unsurpassed dedication to the Connected Corridors Team. Joseph has envisioned, developed, and continues to provide unmatched leadership to a now formidable ITS Team called Connected Corridors. Joe has never wavered in his commitment to this program and his team, and as such this UC Berkeley team leads the world in the development of innovative Integrated Corridor Management Systems! 

Podolsky ITS Distinguished Service Award

ITS Distinguished Service Award       

Laura Podolsky     

In recognition of her outstanding support of the Institute of Transportation Studies at the Campus, UC System, and State of California levels.   

Abbaticola ITS Culture of Excellence Award

ITS Culture of Excellence Award        

Angie Abbatecola       

In recognition of the extraordinary level of service she delivers and the inspiration she is to her team.

Edwards ITS Staff of the Year Award

ITS Staff of the Year Award    

Bernadette Tan Edwards       

In recognition of her outstanding contributions and enthusiasm for ITS, we want to recognize Bernie for all her contributions to ITS and the amazing effort she puts in to help all of us here at ITS. No one works harder, is prouder to be a member of ITS, and is more willing to contribute to the success of the institute than Bernie and we want to thank her for that.      

Oum SafeTREC Excellence Award

SafeTREC Excellence Award  

Sang Hyouk Oum       

Sang Hyouk Oum demonstrates excellence in all he does at SafeTREC. During his 10+ years at SafeTREC, he has made remarkable contributions to a wide range of transportation safety tools that are either already being used in safety planning by Caltrans, OTS, the CHP, and local agencies, or at an advanced developmental stage for State-wide implementation. The quality of his work is recognized by colleagues, students, and agencies.   

Cohen TSRC Outstanding Staff Award

TSRC Outstanding Staff Award          

Adam Cohen   

This is in recognition of his outstanding efforts in advancing transportation research on Shared Mobility, Urban Air Mobility, Mobility on Demand, and other emerging innovations.  In addition to this work, Adam has been deeply committed to and involved in representing TSRC at numerous conferences, meetings, and symposia. He also works tirelessly with our partners, students, and the research team at TSRC.

Johnson TechTransfer Outstanding Staff Award

TechTransfer Outstanding Staff Award         

Jay Johnson    

In recognition of his exemplary commitment and effort to TechTransfer and his teammates.

Mountsambote ITS Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award

ITS Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award      

Flore Mountsambote             

Flore has taken advantage of all the transportation planning courses offered at the undergraduate level in the College of Environmental Design in the three and a half years she has spent at UC Berkeley earning her bachelor's degree, in addition to completing an internship at the Transportation Sustainability Research Center and her selection for the California Transportation Foundation Conference.

Raie TechTransfer Outstanding Instructor Award

TechTransfer Instructor of the Year Award  

Rafat Raie      

In recognition of extraordinary dedication to continuing education and efficacy in the classroom.

Harb ITS Outstanding Graduate Student Award

Outstanding Graduate Student Award    

Mustapha Harb                      

In recognition of Mustapha's innovative "chauffeur project," which provides regular people with drivers to study what life may be like with a fully self-driving vehicle — not an easy project to get through the University! Mustapha persevered through two years of bureaucratic hurdles with the utmost professionalism and grace.