Academic Affilations

Orientation in the library

Professor Michael Cassidy leads orientation in the Transporttion Library.

ITS serves as the nucleus for multidisciplinary transportation research, student engagement, and outreach at UC Berkeley, with 35 faculty members from nine UC Berkeley academic departments and schools. Additionally, approximately 60 researchers and students are associated with ITS through our various research and educational activities.

ITS’s expertise, coupled with our physical proximity to Silicon Valley and the cities of San Francisco and Oakland, provide unparalleled opportunities to examine, propose, and test policies, technologies, and infrastructures.


• Civil and Environmental Engineering

• City and Regional Planning

• Energy and Resources Group

• Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

• Industrial Engineering and Operations Research

• Mechanical Engineering


• College of Engineering

• College of Environmental Design

• College of Natural Resources

• Goldman School of Public Policy

• Haas School of Business

• School of Public Health


• Energy Analysis and Environmental Impacts Division

• Energy Storage and Distributed Resources Division


ITS faculty members have earned numerous academic, industry, and teaching honors for their research and mentorship. Among our ranks we proudly count six National Academy of Engineering members as well as fellows of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the American Society of Civil Engineers, and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). Our faculty includes six National Science Foundation (NSF) Faculty Early Career Development Program awards and two winners of the NSF’s Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). Transportation was both the impetus and the validation model for Berkeley economics professor Daniel McFadden’s Nobel Prize–winning work in discrete choice modeling, and former Transportation Sustainability Research Center director Dan Kammen was part of the Nobel Prize–winning Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.

Our faculty have authored papers, articles, and books seminal to the advancement of transportation around the world. Publications over the past 10 years include more than 20 books, 40 book chapters, 300 conference papers, and 700 journal articles.


Faculty have received awards and prizes from professional societies, governments, industry, technology, and academia, including more than 20 “Best Paper” awards.

Just a few of the many distinctions include four Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prizes (Adib Kanifani, Juan Pestana, Arpad Horvath, and Alexandre Bayen), the Dale Prize for Excellence in Urban Planning (Robert Cervero), the Laudise Prize from the International Society for Industrial Ecology (Horvath), the Transportation Research Board’s Francis X. McKelvey Award (Mark Hansen), the Robert Herman Lifetime Award in Transportation Science from the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (Carlos Daganzo), and the ASME Dynamic Systems and Controls Division’s Charles Stark Draper Award for Innovative Practice (Steven Shladover) and Henry M. Paynter Outstanding Investigator Award (Roberto Horowitz).