10 Students Earn Eisenhower Fellowships

December 13, 2021

Congratulations to the 10 UC Berkeley ITS affiliated students who received Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program (DDETFP) fellowships for the coming year.

“ITS Berkeley has a long tradition of producing strong fellowship award winners who have greatly contributed to the transportation and planning fields,” says ITS Berkeley Director Alexandre Bayen. “It is exciting to see the broadness of topics our awardees are covering, and especially heartening to see some of our students and their research earning awards for a second year.”

Winners include: doctoral student Mohamed Amine Bouzaghrane, advised by Civil Environmental and Engineering (CEE) professor Joan Walker; doctoral student Kate Gosselin, advised by CEE professor Susan Shaheen; MS/MCP dual degree student Gregory Harasym, advised by Department of City and Regional Planning (DCRP) Professor Daniel Rodriguez; MCP student Kaitlyn Kong, advised by DCRP professor Karen Trapenberg Frick; doctoral student Jessica Lazarus, advised by Shaheen and Bayen; doctoral student Emma Lucken, advised by Susan Shaheen; doctoral student Michael Montilla, advised by DCRP professor Dan Chatman; doctoral student Aqshems Nichols, advised by Walker and Shaheen; doctoral student Alexandra Pan advised by Susan Shaheen; and doctoral student Madeleine Parker advised by DCRP professors Rodriguez and Elizabeth Deakin.

The Eisenhower Fellowship is a competitive program administered by the Federal Highway Administration for the Department of Transportation. The fellowships are awarded to students pursuing degrees in transportation-related disciplines and aim to advance the transportation workforce by helping to attract the nation's brightest minds to the field of transportation, encouraging future transportation professionals to seek advanced degrees, and helping to retain top talent in the U.S. transportation industry. The awards are merit-based and generally result in 150-200 grants annually, subject to the availability of funds.

The program also supports Fellows to participate in the 101st Transportation Research Board Annual Meeting, held in person Jan. 9–13, 2022 in Washington, D.C.

Winners and their research interests include:

Mohamed Amine Bouzaghrane

Research Interests: Behavioral modeling, causal inference, and machine learning

Kate Gosselein

Research Interests: The intersection of transportation sustainability and safety.

Gregory Harasym

Research Interests: Public service, data analysis intersections of equitable transportation planning, and land-use planning.

Kaitlyn Kong

Research Interests: Social equity, sustainability, micro-mobility, active transportation, multi-modal transportation, and built environment

Jessica Lazarus

Research Interests: Development of innovative shared-mobility services and their effects on the proliferation of multi-modal transportation in urban settings

Emma Lucken

Research Interests: Health, equity, and environmental implications of mobility-on-demand initiatives.

Michael Montilla

Research Interests: Emerging Transportation Technologies (AVs, EVs, TNCs, etc.), Equitable Access to Electric Vehicles, Sustainable Transportation and Resilient Cities, Transportation and Climate Change, Transportation and Public Health, Private Uses of Streets and Other Public Spaces, Social Ramification of AV Data Practices

Aqshems Nichols

Research Interests: transportation altruism, public transit regeneration, and community engagement methods

Alexandra Pan

Research interests: Shared mobility and travel behavior

Madeleine Parker

Research interests: Climate change adaptation, resilience planning, affordable housing, transportation equity, urban mobility, spatial inequality, participatory mapping, data science, spatial analysis