11 ITS students Earn Eisenhower Fellowships

December 14, 2022

Congratulations to the 11 UC Berkeley ITS affiliated students who received Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program (DDETFP) fellowships for the coming year.

“ITS Berkeley continues a long tradition of producing strong fellowship award winners who have greatly contributed to the transportation and planning fields,” says ITS Berkeley Director Daniel Rodriguez. “It is especially exciting to see some of our students and their research earning awards over multiple years.”

Winners include: doctoral student Mohamed Amine Bouzaghrane, advised by Civil Environmental and Engineering (CEE) professor Joan Walker; MCP student Jacquelyn Broader, advised by Department of City and Regional Planning (DCRP) professor Karen Trapenberg Frick; MS student Dawson Do, advised by CEE professor Maria Laura Delle Monache; doctoral student Dagin Faulkner, advised by Frick; MS/MCP dual degree student Matthew Hui, advised by DCRP professor Dan Chatman; doctoral student Michael Montilla, advised by Chatman; doctoral student Marcel Moran, advised by Chatman; doctoral student Aqshems Nichols, advised by CEE professors Walker and Susan Shaheen; doctoral student Alexandra Pan advised by Shaheen; doctoral student Madeleine Parker advised by DCRP professors Daniel Rodriguez and Elizabeth Deakin; and MCP student Samantha Serafica, advised by Frick.

The Eisenhower Fellowship is a competitive program administered by the Federal Highway Administration for the Department of Transportation. The fellowships are awarded to students pursuing degrees in transportation-related disciplines and aim to advance the transportation workforce by helping to attract the nation's brightest minds to the field of transportation, encouraging future transportation professionals to seek advanced degrees, and helping to retain top talent in the U.S. transportation industry. The awards are merit-based and generally result in 150-200 grants annually, subject to the availability of funds.

The program also supports Fellows to participate in the 2023 Transportation Research Board Annual Meeting, held in person Jan. 8–12, 2023 in Washington, D.C.

Winners and their research interests include:

Mohamed Amine Bouzaghrane

Research Interests: Behavioral modeling, causal inference, and machine learning

Jackie Broader

Research interests: integrating shared mobility into existing transportation networks and increasing accessibility and equity for vulnerable populations

Dawson Do

Research interests: Traffic Modeling, Signal Control, Transit

Dagin Faulkner

Research interests: Cybersecurity governance at the municipal level

Matthew Hui

Research interests: Improving mobility, accessibility, and travel behavior by incorporating data analytics, statistics, behavioral science, transportation engineering and city planning

Michael Montilla

Research Interests: Emerging Transportation Technologies (AVs, EVs, TNCs, etc.), Equitable Access to Electric Vehicles, Sustainable Transportation and Resilient Cities, Transportation and Climate Change, Transportation and Public Health, Private Uses of Streets and Other Public Spaces, Social Ramification of AV Data Practices

Marcel Moran

Research interests: Mobility; the interaction between cities and new technologies such as self-driving cars (automated vehicles), ride-hailing (TNCs), and bikeshare, among others; and equity of mobility provision and access across cities and regions

Aqshems Nichols

Research Interests: transportation altruism, public transit regeneration, and community engagement methods

Alexandra Pan

Research interests: Shared mobility and travel behavior

Madeleine Parker

Research interests: Climate change adaptation, resilience planning, affordable housing, transportation equity, urban mobility, spatial inequality, participatory mapping, data science, spatial analysis

Samantha Serafica

Research interests: Sustainable transportation, emerging mobility, informal transport systems and services