Alumna Therese McMillan Named to Biden-Harris USDOT Transition Team

November 24, 2020

USDOT buildingAs it prepares to take office early next year, the Biden-Harris administration unveiled the names of 18 members of its U.S. Department of Transportation transition team. Among those appointed to the prestigious group is ITS and CEE/DCRP alumna Therese McMillan, executive director of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission of the San Francisco Bay Area. Phillip Washington, CEO of the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority, will lead the team.

The USDOT team is comprised of experts from a wide range backgrounds, including urban transportation, public transportation, and labor. It is tasked with reviewing the National Transportation Safety Board, Amtrak, and the Federal Maritime Commission.

Jim Tymon, executive director of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, praised the decision, saying "transportation infrastructure has traditionally been a cause that unites, and state DOTs look forward to working with the Biden-Harris administration and Congress on addressing a number of pressing issues, including passage of a robust, multi-year surface transportation bill next year and a sustainable solution to solvency of the Highway Trust Fund.”