Shaheen to Lead TRB Executive Committee in 2021

September 29, 2020

Susan ShaheenCongratulations to ITS affilate Susan Shaheen, who has been appointed as chair of the 2021 Transportation Research Board (TRB) Executive Committee by Marcia McNutt, president of the National Academy of Sciences and chair of the National Research Council. Her term will begin in January 2021 during the virtual TRB Annual Meeting.

The TRB Executive Committee is composed of approximately 25 members appointed by the chair of the National Research Council. These members are selected to provide balanced representation of transportation modes, academic disciplines, private and public sectors, levels of government, geographical regions, and other relevant factors. The committee provides strategic direction and oversight for all of TRB’s programs and activities.

Shaheen is a professor in civil and environmental engineering at the University of California, Berkeley, and is co-director of UC Berkeley’s Transportation Sustainability Research Center. She also serves as the director of the California Resilient and Innovative Mobility Initiative for the University of California Institute of Transportation Studies (UC ITS), representing the Berkeley, Davis, Irvine, and Los Angeles campuses. Shaheen received TRB’s 2017 Roy W. Crum Award for her distinguished achievements in transportation research.

“Susan is highly respected among her colleagues on the Executive Committee and always contributes in a meaningful way during Executive Committee deliberations. She has a notable academic record and is an internationally recognized expert in future mobility strategies and the sharing economy,” said TRB Executive Director Neil Pedersen. “It will be a real asset to have her as chair during 2021, as TRB continues to deal with major issues associated with the impact and recovery from COVID-19, as well as racial and social equity issues.”

Read the full release from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.